The best futon mattress starts with the frame, not a comfort label: full-size decks vary enough that a 71-by-52-inch replacement and a 54-by-75-inch mattress are not interchangeable. We compared six current frame-ready mattresses by exact dimensions, folding design, published support construction, cover care, and setup.
Quick picks
We screened 20 Amazon US listings and ranked six in-stock ASINs from six brands. Measure the frame fully open before choosing.
Jamdok 6-Inch Full Futon Replacement Mattress
Jamdok combines the common compact 71-by-52-inch replacement size with two firmness orientations: a softer side for the backrest and a firmer side for the seat. Gel memory foam and support foam provide a documented layered core, while the removable machine-washable pillow-top cover is the easiest care design in the group.
- 71 x 52 x 6 in compact full-futon replacement size
- Softer backrest side and firmer seat side
- Removable machine-washable pillow-top cover
Exact 71-by-52-by-6-inch dimensions and explicit full-futon replacement use make fit checking straightforward, while the two-sided orientation is designed around sofa conversion.
Gel memory foam and high-density support foam provide distinct comfort and support layers, with different firmness roles for backrest and seat.
A removable machine-washable pillow-top cover is unusually practical; the main tradeoff is the stated 48-hour decompression period.
Milliard Full-Size Memory Foam Futon Mattress
Milliard is the most conventional compact replacement for buyers who want a simple documented foam stack: 2 inches of memory foam over a 4-inch high-density base. Its 71-by-52-inch footprint fits many full futon frames, and the zippered knit cover removes for machine washing. The listing also states a 24-hour expansion period.
- 71 x 52 x 6 in full-futon size
- 2 in memory foam over 4 in high-density base
- Removable machine-washable knit cover
The exact compact 71-by-52-by-6-inch size and explicit metal- or wood-futon-frame use make it easy to compare with an existing deck.
A 2-inch memory-foam comfort layer over a 4-inch high-density base is the clearest published all-foam layer breakdown in the group.
The removable machine-washable cover, CertiPUR-US claim, and 24-hour expansion guidance are practical, though the listing does not describe flippability.
Loosh Home 10-Inch Pocket-Coil Futon Mattress
Loosh Home publishes the most complete hybrid build here: individually wrapped coils, high-density foam, and breathable cotton batting in a 10-inch medium-firm mattress. The 75-by-54-inch full size is both flippable and foldable, making it the strongest documented choice for buyers who want a thicker traditional futon feel and whose frame matches the larger footprint.
- 75 x 54 in full size with 10 in thickness
- Individually wrapped coils, high-density foam, and cotton batting
- Flippable and foldable; made to order in the USA
Published 75-by-54-inch dimensions and explicit flippable/foldable use support conversion, but the larger footprint requires careful frame measurement.
Individually wrapped coils, high-density foam, and cotton batting provide the most fully documented thick hybrid design in the shortlist.
Made-to-order USA construction and a CertiPUR-US claim are positives, while the listing provides less practical cover-cleaning detail than the two leaders.
Matini Home Dual-Firmness Full Futon Mattress
Matini Home is the best choice for buyers who want a clearly documented firm side and a second side combining medium-density foam with memory foam. The checked full measures 54 by 74 inches and is designed to fold between sofa and bed positions. Its corded cover removes through a heavy-duty zipper, though the stated cleaning method is dry cleaning.
- 54 x 74 in full-size footprint
- Firm-foam side + medium-density and memory-foam side
- Easy-fold design with removable heavy-zipper corded cover
Exact 54-by-74-inch sizing and explicit foldout-couch/futon use make it straightforward to match with a compatible frame.
One firm-foam side and one medium-density plus memory-foam side create useful documented firmness choices without unsupported performance claims.
The removable corded cover and heavy-duty zipper help maintenance, while dry-clean-only care is less convenient than machine washing.
FoammaUSA 6-Inch Corduroy Futon Mattress
FoammaUSA is the easiest finalist to match across less-standard frames because the listing publishes twin, full, full XL, queen, and compact dimensions. The checked full is about 54 by 74 inches and uses a firm foam base plus a memory-foam-infused top. Its corduroy cover removes with a heavy-duty zipper, but the stated care is dry clean only.
- Approx. 54 x 74 x 6 in full size; compact and full XL options listed
- Firm foam base + memory-foam-infused top layer
- Removable corduroy cover with heavy-duty #8 zipper
Multiple published lengths and widths, including compact and full XL, improve fit choices, while the checked full is explicitly easy to fold for sofa-bed use.
A firm base and memory-foam-infused top give the 6-inch mattress a clear two-layer design, though the listing does not publish layer thicknesses.
The removable corduroy cover and heavy-duty zipper simplify access, but dry-clean-only care is less convenient than machine washing.
MAXYOYO 6-Inch Tufted Full Futon Mattress
MAXYOYO is the lowest-priced finalist and publishes a 54-by-80-inch, 6-inch-thick format with high-density support-foam blocks and 18 tufted positions intended to limit fill movement. It can serve as a sofa, mat, or floor mattress, but buyers must confirm that the unusually long full-size footprint fits their frame and allow two to three days for recovery.
- Published 54 x 80 x 6 in size
- High-density support-foam blocks with 18 tufted positions
- Sofa, mat, or floor use; two-to-three-day recovery guidance
Exact dimensions and sofa use are stated, but the 80-inch full-length footprint is longer than many compact futon decks and needs careful measurement.
High-density support-foam blocks and 18 tufted positions provide credible structure, though the listing publishes less layer and firmness detail than the leaders.
The listing gives clear two-to-three-day recovery guidance, but it does not document a removable cover or a specific cleaning method.
Futon mattresses compared
| Rank | Futon mattress | Published size | Published construction | Cover and care | Setup or conversion notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Jamdok 6-inch full | 71 x 52 x 6 in | Gel memory foam + high-density support foam; two firmness orientations | Removable machine-washable pillow-top cover | Allow 48 hours to recover after unpacking |
| 2 | Milliard full memory foam | 71 x 52 x 6 in | 2 in memory foam + 4 in high-density base | Removable machine-washable knit cover | Published 24-hour expansion guidance |
| 3 | Loosh Home pocket coil | 75 x 54 in; 10 in thick | Individually wrapped coils + high-density foam + cotton batting | Lightweight hand-tufted cover; cleaning method not specified | Flippable and foldable; made to order |
| 4 | Matini Home dual firmness | 54 x 74 in | Firm-foam side + medium-density foam and memory-foam side | Removable corded cover; dry clean only | Easy-fold design; frame not included |
| 5 | FoammaUSA corduroy | Approx. 54 x 74 x 6 in full; other formats listed | Firm foam base + memory-foam-infused top | Removable corduroy cover; dry clean only | Easy-fold design; frame not included |
| 6 | MAXYOYO tufted full | 54 x 80 x 6 in | High-density support-foam blocks; 18 tufted positions | Soft fabric cover; removal/cleaning method not documented | Pat and allow 2-3 days to recover |
These are listing specifications for the exact ASINs checked on August 24, 2026. Futon-frame dimensions are not perfectly standardized, so do not assume that “full” is enough to establish fit.
How we ranked these futon mattresses
This is a desk-research comparison. BestStuffGuide did not sleep on these mattresses or measure pressure relief, heat, sag, odor, edge support, or long-term durability. We screened 20 current Amazon candidates, removed Japanese floor mats, pull-out sleeper-sofa slabs, complete frame sets, duplicate colors, and listings with weak model or construction identity, then kept six exact mattress-only ASINs from six brands.
Frame fit and folding account for 40% of the Editorial Rating. We compared exact open dimensions, thickness, stated futon-frame use, and whether the mattress is designed to move between sofa and bed positions. Support construction contributes 35%, using only documented foam, coil, batting, tufting, and firmness details. Care and ownership make up the remaining 25%, including removable-cover instructions, cleaning limits, expansion time, flippability, and certification claims.
Measure the frame before comparing comfort
Open the frame flat and measure the usable deck from end to end and side to side. Also check hinge gaps, retention bars, and any raised edge that reduces the true mattress area. Jamdok and Milliard publish a compact 71-by-52-inch footprint. Matini Home and FoammaUSA are about 54 by 74 inches, while Loosh Home publishes 75 by 54 inches. MAXYOYO’s checked listing is 54 by 80 inches, which is materially longer than the compact options.
A mattress that overhangs can bunch near the hinge, resist folding, or shift while used as a sofa. An undersized mattress may leave gaps or fail to stay against the back deck. If the old mattress fit correctly, measure it flat as a second reference, but rely on the frame’s usable deck for the final check.
Thickness changes how a futon folds
Six-inch mattresses usually ask less of a tight hinge than a 10-inch model, but thickness alone does not predict flexibility. Loosh Home explicitly describes its 10-inch pocket-coil mattress as foldable and flippable. A frame designed around a thinner mattress may still be difficult to close with a thick replacement, especially if the hinge geometry or retaining hardware leaves little clearance.
Foam versus pocket coils
The two compact leaders use all-foam builds. Milliard provides the clearest layer breakdown: 2 inches of memory foam over a 4-inch high-density base. Jamdok lists gel memory foam and support foam, then adds different firmness roles for the seat and backrest orientations. These designs avoid coil noise and keep the mattress at 6 inches, but the checked listings do not supply density numbers that would support a durability comparison.
Loosh Home uses individually wrapped coils, high-density foam, and cotton batting in a 10-inch build. That is the most detailed hybrid construction in this group and may appeal to buyers who want a thicker traditional futon cushion. The tradeoffs are a larger 75-by-54-inch footprint and less specific cover-cleaning guidance.
Matini Home and FoammaUSA both use two-sided or two-layer foam ideas. Matini Home publishes a firm side and a second side with medium-density foam and memory foam. FoammaUSA lists a firm base with a memory-foam-infused top. MAXYOYO documents high-density support-foam blocks and 18 tufted positions but provides less layer and care detail.
Cover care matters on a sofa-bed mattress
A futon mattress serves as upholstery while the frame is upright, so cover care can affect day-to-day usability as much as the inner fill. Jamdok and Milliard both publish removable machine-washable covers. Jamdok’s pillow-top cover includes a nonslip underside, while Milliard uses a zippered knit cover.
Matini Home and FoammaUSA use removable covers with heavy-duty zippers, but both listings specify dry cleaning rather than machine washing. Loosh Home’s checked listing describes a lightweight hand-tufted cover without a comparable cleaning method. MAXYOYO does not document a removable cover or a specific cleaning method on the checked page. When the manufacturer does not state that a cover can be removed or washed, treat it as fixed and use only an approved spot-cleaning method.
Allow compressed mattresses to recover
Vacuum-packed foam can arrive thinner or more creased than its finished shape. Milliard lists a 24-hour expansion period, Jamdok asks for 48 hours, and MAXYOYO advises patting the mattress and allowing two to three days. Open the package in a clear area, remove compression film carefully without cutting the cover, and keep the mattress flat while it recovers.
Do not force a partly expanded mattress into the sofa position. Folding it too early can make it harder to judge final dimensions and may concentrate creases near the hinge. If the mattress remains materially undersized after the full published period, compare it with the listing dimensions before starting a return.
Futon mattress fit and care checklist
- Measure the frame fully open: length, width, hinge gap, and retention-bar clearance.
- Match the exact listing dimensions, not only the “full” size label.
- Confirm that the intended thickness can fold on the current frame.
- Check whether the cover is removable, machine washable, dry clean only, or unspecified.
- Follow the full decompression period before judging final size or folding behavior.
- Rotate or flip the mattress only when the listing allows it.
- Keep Japanese floor futons and pull-out sleeper-sofa replacements outside this frame-mattress comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Are all full-size futon mattresses the same dimensions?
No. The checked listings range from 71 by 52 inches to 75 by 54 inches, and one publishes 54 by 80 inches. Measure the open frame deck and compare it with the exact product variant before ordering.
Is a 10-inch futon mattress better than a 6-inch mattress?
Not automatically. A 10-inch mattress can provide a more substantial cushion, but it also needs enough hinge clearance and flexibility to fold on the frame. Construction, dimensions, and the frame’s design matter more than thickness alone.
Can a Japanese floor futon go on a sofa frame?
Only if its manufacturer explicitly supports that use and its dimensions and folding behavior match the frame. This guide excludes shikibuton-style floor mats because their intended support surface and proportions differ from frame-ready replacement mattresses.
How long should a compressed futon mattress expand?
Follow the exact listing. The finalists with published guidance range from 24 hours to two or three days. Keep the mattress flat and avoid judging final size before the stated recovery period has passed.
Can I machine wash a futon mattress cover?
Only when the listing explicitly says the cover is removable and machine washable. Jamdok and Milliard state that. Matini Home and FoammaUSA publish removable covers but specify dry cleaning. For an unspecified fixed cover, use only the maker’s approved cleaning method.
Final verdict
Jamdok is the best overall futon mattress for a compatible compact full frame because it combines exact 71-by-52-inch sizing, deliberate softer-back and firmer-seat orientations, a documented gel-memory-foam core, and the strongest washable-cover design. Milliard is the best alternative for a straightforward 2-inch memory-foam and 4-inch support-base stack. Choose Loosh Home for a thicker pocket-coil build, Matini Home for two firmness sides, FoammaUSA for its broad size menu, or MAXYOYO when price matters and the 54-by-80-inch footprint fits.