A self-cleaning litter box only works if your cat can enter it comfortably and the safety system suits the cat’s size. We compared six current models by cat fit and safety, waste and odor control, and setup and monitoring.
Quick picks
Our ranking uses exact Amazon listings and manufacturer specifications. Prices and stock change, so the cards leave those details to the site’s scheduled Amazon updates.
Neakasa M1 Plus Open-Top Self-Cleaning Litter Box
M1 Plus combines a broad documented cat range, permanently open top, six infrared sensor sets, pinch-limited rotation, an 11.23-liter waste bin, app tracking, and a detachable cleaning design. It gives large cats more room without giving up sealed disposal or useful monitoring.
- Open-top design for cats from 3.3 to 33 pounds, with manual kitten use below that range
- Six rotating infrared sensor sets and pinch-limited drive geometry
- 11.23-liter waste bin, Pull & Wrap disposal, app tracking, mat, and two bag rolls
The open top, 3.3-to-33-pound automatic range, six sensor sets, and pinch-limited rotation give it the broadest documented fit here.
An 11.23-liter bin, sealing strip, leak layer, and Pull & Wrap bag system provide large-capacity, low-contact disposal.
The app tracks visits and litter level, while the detachable chamber and open top simplify refilling and deep cleaning.
PETKIT Purobot Max 3 Automatic Litter Box
Purobot Max 3 uses an 8.03-inch entry, 12 sensors, and a cylinder that always leaves an opening. Its 7-liter side bin, multi-part odor system, broad clumping-litter support, removable cylinder, and detailed app controls make it a strong fit for older or short-legged cats within its 3.3-to-22-pound range.
- 8.03-inch entry and 3.3-to-22-pound published cat range
- Twelve sensors plus a mechanically incomplete gear that keeps an exit open
- 7-liter bin, clumping clay/tofu/mixed litter support, app tracking, and one bag roll
A low entry, 12 sensors, and an always-open mechanical exit suit a wide range of adult cats within the documented weight limit.
The sealed 7-liter side bin, carbon and odor components, leak barriers, and broad clumping-litter support form a complete waste system.
The app separates cats by weight, sends status alerts, schedules cycles, and pairs with a removable cylinder and top-panel controls.
Whisker Litter-Robot EVO Self-Cleaning Litter Box
EVO is the most compact finalist and is documented for one or two cats from 3 to 19 pounds. A sealed drawer with carbon filter, any-clumping-litter support, LCD status, weight identification, alerts, and modular EasyClean parts create a polished system for apartments and smaller homes.
- Compact enclosed design for up to two cats from 3 to 19 pounds
- Sealed waste drawer, carbon filter, QuietSift cycles, and any clumping litter
- LCD status plus Whisker app weight identification, visit tracking, and drawer alerts
Clear 3-to-19-pound guidance and weight-based automatic operation are well documented, but the compact enclosed interior narrows fit versus open-top leaders.
A tightly sealed drawer, carbon filter, automatic sifting, and flexible clumping-litter support provide strong everyday odor handling.
The LCD, polished app alerts, weight identification, drawer status, included liners, and modular cleaning design lead the group for supported ownership.
Furbulous FB001 Self-Packing Automatic Litter Box
FB001 automatically packs waste and prepares the next section of its proprietary bag cassette. It pairs a 60-liter globe with proximity, weight, and infrared sensing, a no-pinch structure, app weight and visit tracking, and detachable washable parts for cats from 3.3 to 22 pounds.
- Automatic waste-bag packing and refill cassette
- Proximity, weight, and infrared sensors with a no-pinch structure
- 60-liter globe for 3.3-to-22-pound cats, app monitoring, and washable detachable parts
The 3.3-to-22-pound range and three sensor types are useful, though the exact entry dimensions and first-party safety detail are thinner than the top three.
Automatic bag sealing and refill isolate waste with less handling than a standard open drawer, making this the strongest disposal design here.
App weight and behavior logs plus detachable parts help, but the proprietary bag cassette adds an ongoing supply requirement.
Cumrige 95L App-Controlled Automatic Litter Box
Cumrige publishes a 95-liter drum, 15-liter waste bin, and a 2.2-to-33-pound cat range at a much lower observed price than the premium app models. Tuya app control, sensor pausing, clumping-litter support, detachable trays, and two liner rolls cover the main functions without the same depth of first-party model documentation.
- 95-liter drum and published 2.2-to-33-pound cat range
- 15-liter waste bin with detachable trays and two liner rolls
- Sensor pause plus Tuya app cleaning, litter-change, usage, and weight functions over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
The listed cat range is broad and sensors pause cycles, but the exact entrance and multi-layer safety design are less fully documented.
A 15-liter bin and detachable trays provide strong capacity, while odor and leak claims rely mainly on the marketplace listing.
Tuya app control covers cleaning, litter changes, and usage tracking, but model-specific support and cleaning instructions are thinner than the leaders.
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy Litter Box
ScoopFree Crystal Pro uses a low uncovered tray and automatic rake instead of a rotating globe. Motion sensors delay cleaning until the cat leaves, the counter records visits, and the disposable crystal tray absorbs liquid and dehydrates solids. It is simple to understand, but it requires PetSafe crystal litter trays and offers no app.
- Low uncovered 27.6-by-19.1-inch tray with motion-sensor rake timing
- Disposable leak-lined ScoopFree crystal litter tray and low-tracking crystals
- Local health counter records visits without an app or Wi-Fi
The open low tray and motion-sensor cycle suit many cats, but the checked sources do not publish the same detailed weight range or redundant safety geometry as the rotating leaders.
Crystal litter absorbs urine and dries solids in a leak-lined tray, though the rake does not seal waste as tightly as a drawer or bag system.
The plug-in rake and local usage counter are simple, but there is no app and the dedicated disposable tray creates an ongoing supply dependency.
Self-cleaning litter boxes compared
| Rank | Litter box | Entry design | Published cat range | Waste handling | Compatible litter | Monitoring |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Neakasa M1 Plus | Open top; 13.86-inch entry height | 3.3 to 33 lb automatic; kitten manual mode | 11.23 L bin; Pull & Wrap bag seal | Fast-clumping scoopable litter | Neakasa app; usage, weight-based identification, litter level |
| 2 | PETKIT Purobot Max 3 | Low front entry; 8.03 inches high | 3.3 to 22 lb; maker says 6+ months | 7 L sealed side bin; up to 15 days for one cat | Clumping clay, tofu, or mixed litter | PETKIT app; weight recognition, visits, alerts, schedules |
| 3 | Whisker Litter-Robot EVO | Compact enclosed globe; 14.5-inch interior headroom | 3 to 19 lb; up to 2 cats | Sealed medium drawer; carbon filter; up to 7 days for one cat | Any clumping litter | Whisker app; weight ID, visits, cycles, drawer status; LCD |
| 4 | Furbulous FB001 | Enclosed 60 L globe | 3.3 to 22 lb | Automatic bag packing and refill cassette | Clumping litter; exact supported types not fully stated | Furbulous app; weight, visits, remote control |
| 5 | Cumrige 95L model | Enclosed rotating drum; exact entry size not stated | 2.2 to 33 lb | 15 L bin; detachable trays; up to 15 days claimed | Clumping litter | Tuya Smart app; cleaning, weight, usage, litter change |
| 6 | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | Uncovered low tray; 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in | Single or multi-cat; exact weight range not stated | Automatic rake into disposable leak-lined tray | ScoopFree crystal litter only | Local motion-sensor health counter; no app |
Capacity claims are not directly interchangeable. One maker may publish a bin volume while another gives an estimated number of days for one cat. Cat count, diet, litter, and waste volume all affect the real interval between emptying.
How we ranked these litter boxes
This is a desk-research comparison. BestStuffGuide did not measure sensor reliability, odor, noise, leaks, litter tracking, app accuracy, or durability. Exact Amazon listings supplied the ASIN, current availability, checked configuration, product image, and listing-specific details. Manufacturer pages supplied model specifications where available.
Cat fit and safety accounts for 40% of the Editorial Rating. We looked for clear weight guidance, a usable entry, sensors, anti-pinch design, and manual or kitten modes. Waste and odor control is 35%, with credit for sealed bins, low-contact disposal, filters, leak barriers, and litter flexibility. Setup and monitoring is the remaining 25%. It covers controls, alerts, usage logging, cleaning access, and ongoing consumables.
Neakasa leads because its open top and documented 3.3-to-33-pound automatic range fit more cats than the enclosed finalists. PETKIT is close behind with a lower entrance, 12 sensors, an always-open mechanical exit, and broad clumping-litter support. Whisker’s compact EVO has the strongest supported app and ownership experience for smaller households.
Match the box to your cat before comparing apps
An automatic box can have excellent software and still be wrong for a large, elderly, short-legged, or cautious cat. Compare the entrance height, interior shape, and published weight range with every cat that will use it. An open top gives a cat more visibility and room to turn. A rotating enclosed globe may contain litter better, but the opening and interior are less forgiving.
Neakasa M1 Plus has the broadest published range in this group and an open top. PETKIT Purobot Max 3 has the lowest documented entrance at 8.03 inches. Whisker EVO is compact and designed for one or two cats from 3 to 19 pounds. Furbulous publishes a 3.3-to-22-pound range. Cumrige lists a wider range, but its exact entry size and safety architecture are less fully documented. PetSafe uses an open low tray, though the checked sources do not give a comparable cat-weight range.
Safety sensors have limits
Follow the maker’s minimum weight and age guidance before turning on automatic cycles. Neakasa provides manual kitten operation below its automatic range. PETKIT says Purobot Max 3 is for cats at least six months old and 3.3 pounds. Whisker requires at least 3 pounds for EVO in Automatic Mode. Do not assume that another brand’s limit applies to a similar-looking box.
Sensors also need a stable surface and regular inspection. Keep the entrance, weight platform, and moving parts clear. Stop using automatic mode if the box cycles with a cat nearby, shows repeated errors, or has damaged guards or seals. Disconnect power before removing the drum or washing parts.
Rotating drums, self-packing bags, and crystal trays
Rotating and sifting boxes
Neakasa, PETKIT, Whisker, and Cumrige rotate or sift litter so clumps fall into a separate bin. Their main differences are the entry, bin location, seal, filters, and compatible litter. These systems usually let you buy clumping litter from more than one source, but particle size and clumping speed still matter. Follow the product’s filter or sifter guidance.
Automatic bag packing
Furbulous FB001 seals used waste in its bag cassette and prepares the next bag section. That reduces contact with an open waste drawer and gives it the best waste-handling score in this group. The tradeoff is a proprietary bag supply that you need to keep in stock.
Rake and crystal tray
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro moves solid waste with a rake while crystal litter absorbs liquid. Cleanup means replacing the leak-lined disposable tray. It is easy to understand and has no app to configure, but it only works with the ScoopFree crystal system. Add refill trays to the ownership cost before choosing it for a multi-cat home.
What the apps can and cannot tell you
The Neakasa, PETKIT, Whisker, Furbulous, and Cumrige picks offer app control or usage tracking. Depending on the model, the app can report visits, weight, cleaning cycles, waste status, litter level, or error alerts. PetSafe keeps a local count of visits instead.
These records can make a change easier to notice, especially in a multi-cat home where the box can distinguish cats by weight. They are not a diagnosis. A sudden change in visits or weight can also come from recognition errors, another cat using the box, a dirty sensor, or a changed routine. Contact a veterinarian about persistent changes in urination, stool, appetite, pain, or behavior.
Cleaning and acclimation
Set the automatic box beside the familiar manual box and leave the new unit off at first. Add a small amount of used litter if the maker allows it. Turn on manual cycles only after the cat enters comfortably, then follow the product’s transition guidance before enabling automatic operation. Keep the old box available until every cat uses the new one reliably.
Empty the waste bin before it overfills and wipe the sensors, entrance, and sealing surfaces on the maker’s schedule. Remove and wash only the parts described as washable. Electronics, motors, and bases usually need a dry or lightly damp cleaning method. Let every washed part dry fully before reassembly.
What to check before buying
- Measure your cat’s comfortable entry height and turning space, not just body weight.
- Check the minimum automatic-mode weight for the smallest cat in the home.
- Confirm the litter type, particle size, bag, filter, deodorizer, or disposable tray the model requires.
- Find out whether multiple cats can be identified when their weights are close.
- Leave enough floor space to remove the bin, drum, or tray for cleaning.
- Price the recurring supplies as well as the machine.
Frequently asked questions
Can kittens use a self-cleaning litter box?
Only within the maker’s weight and age guidance. Some models provide a manual kitten mode, while others require the cat to reach a stated minimum before automatic cycling is safe. Keep automatic mode off when the instructions require it.
Can I use any clumping litter?
No. Whisker EVO accepts any clumping litter, while Neakasa recommends fast-clumping scoopable litter and PETKIT lists clumping clay, tofu, or mixed litter. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro requires its crystal system. Check particle-size and material rules for the exact model.
How often do I need to empty the waste bin?
There is no universal interval. Makers publish estimates based on a particular cat count, and real use changes with the cats, litter, diet, and bin design. Treat the app or drawer indicator as a reminder, then inspect the bin yourself.
Will a self-cleaning box remove all odor?
No system removes the need to empty waste, clean seals, replace filters or bags, and wash approved parts. A sealed drawer or packed bag can reduce odor escape, but performance depends on litter, cleaning, room ventilation, and how long waste remains in the unit.
Do I still need a regular litter box?
Keep one during the transition. A manual backup is also useful during power failures, deep cleaning, travel, app or sensor faults, and any period when automatic mode must stay off.
Final verdict
Neakasa M1 Plus is the best overall pick for its open access, broad documented cat range, layered safety design, large sealed waste system, and useful app. PETKIT Purobot Max 3 is the better fit for cats that need a low entrance, while Whisker Litter-Robot EVO suits smaller homes and one- or two-cat households. Choose Furbulous for automatic bag packing, Cumrige for large published capacity at a lower observed price, or PetSafe for a simpler rake-and-crystal system without an app.